Three 12NOW poets longlisted for Seamus Heaney Award

The longlist for the Seamus Heaney Award for New Writing has been announced by Community Arts Partnership, featuring three of Lagan’s 12NOW writers – Matthew Rice, Ross Thompson and Tory Campbell.

This is the third year of the award, supported by the Arts Council of Northern Ireland and the Heaney family. The judging panel includes representatives from ACNI, CAP, the Heaney family, and other invited literary organisations from across the region, presenting an exciting opportunity to all new and emerging poets living within Northern Ireland to be recognised for their craft.

The full longlist, in alphabetical order by first name, is as follows:

Clare Leftfield Mc Williams – The Day of the Buckets
Clodagh Brennan Harvey – If not El Nino, what?
Colin Hassard – You’re There Now
David Atkinson – Marking Out
Emma Mckervey – Aleph to Taf
Emma McKervey – Laundry
Glenn Wilson – The Lotus Gait
Jenni Doherty – Gifts
Lesley Dowds – Glimpses
Lindsay Hodges – Miracle
Matthew Rice – The Turtle
Matthew Rice – L’Absinthe
Ross Thompson – The Daily Crossword
Stephanie Conn – Right Turn
Teresa Kane – The Moonkeeper
Therese Kieran – Story Time
Tory Campbell – Entomology

The winner will be announced this Sunday at Seamus Heaney HomePlace, alongside of the launch of the new ‘Matter’ anthology from CAP. Best of luck to all the longlisted poets!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *