Glebe House Announces Third Annual Poetry Competition

Glebe House Harmony Community Trust has announced its third annual poetry competition, to be judged this year by Emma Wright, founder of the Emma Press.

The competition’s director, Malachi O’Doherty, said that he was particularly glad to have Emma on board. “She knows good poetry when she sees it and some of her recent finds have gone on to be major prize winners.” Previous judges of the Glebe House Poetry Prize have been poets Frank Ormsby and Leontia Flynn, with past winners including Kathleen McCracken and our own online editor, Colin Dardis.

The theme for this year’s competition is Trust. O’Doherty says, “Past winners have interpreted the set theme very broadly. We at Glebe are happy with that. What we want to see is imagination and elegance in the writing. I would say to entrants, take it anywhere and any way you like.”

Wright is specific about what she is looking for. “In my role as editor and publisher at the Emma Press, I’m often on the lookout for new poems and I’m constantly amazed by the creativity and imagination of the people who submit. For the Glebe House Poetry Competition, I’ll be looking for fresh voices with something interesting to say, and I hope that people with all different levels of writing experience send in their poems.”

Details on how to enter, along with entry forms, are available from the competition website. The closing date of the competition is midnight, 22nd September. The first poem submitted costs £10, with subsequent entries in the same submission at £5 per poem. Poems entered must not exceed 40 lines.

Harmony Community Trust is a cross-community Northern Irish charity, providing programmes and activities for disadvantaged children and older people across community divides, based at Glebe House in Strangford, County Down. For further information on the competition, contact You can download a copy of all the winning and listed poems from last year’s competition here (opens as pdf file).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *